Bruce Graduates from NHA Leadership Institute

LA VISTA, Neb. — The Nebraska Hospital Association (NHA) honored 41 graduates of Leadership Institute Class XVI during their 92nd Annual Convention Awards Banquet, which was held on Oct. 16, 2019, at the Embassy Suites Conference Center in La Vista. Mick Bruce, facilities supervisor, and Angela Pruitt, former Health Information Services Director, were among the graduates.

The NHA Leadership Institute, which has over 400 alumni, is a 10-month intensive leadership development program that is geared toward providing middle management and up-and-coming leaders within Nebraska member hospitals with the necessary skills to become exceptional leaders and puts them on the path to senior management positions. It is vital for CEOs to develop a leadership pipeline to ensure effective succession planning while enhancing employees’ contributions to the organization.

Participants in the intensive leadership development program completed 40 hours of instruction and training, individual development planning, personality assessments, feedback exercises and management coaching. The NHA Leadership Institute is a partnership between the NHA and expert faculty from Bellevue University.

They also engaged in a variety of leadership-oriented topics, including building a foundation of leadership, using 360-degree assessments for improved leadership, working with conflict, analyzing performance issues, personality traits in the workplace, coaching for improved performance, leading across the generations, leading teams and succession management.

“We are very proud of this year’s graduates of the NHA Leadership Institute as they have demonstrated a desire and commitment to becoming exceptional health care leaders for Nebraska,” said NHA President Laura J. Redoutey. “It’s a credit to the commitment of our participants and the excellent work performed by our partner, Bellevue University.”

The NHA acknowledges and congratulates the following Class XVI graduates of this year’s
NHA Leadership Institute:


  • Julie Baumgart | Columbus Community Hospital | Columbus
  • Candy Bell | Harlan County Health System | Alma
  • Andrea Blecke | Providence Medical Center | Wayne
  • Jessica Bortner | Community Hospital | McCook
  • Mick Bruce | Jefferson Community Health & Life | Fairbury
  • Jennifer Brunswick | Community Hospital | McCook
  • Megan Burkey | Memorial Health Care Systems | Seward
  • Mike Dougherty | Thayer County Health Services | Hebron
  • Cheryl Eklund | York General | York
  • Sara Ellis | York General | York
  • Brent Enninga | York General | York
  • Kelly Findlay | Pawnee County Memorial Hospital | Pawnee City
  • Kami Foster | Community Hospital | McCook
  • Mirya Hallock | Webster County Community Hospital | Red Cloud
  • Ashley Havel | Fillmore County Hospital | Geneva
  • Marla Heitmann | Thayer County Health Services | Hebron
  • Christine Hutchinson | St. Francis Memorial Hospital | West Point
  • Jennifer Johnson | Box Butte General Hospital | Alliance
  • Kaitlyn Kavan | Saunders Medical Center | Wahoo
  • Jenny Knapp | Saunders Medical Center | Wahoo
  • Brittany Langan | Howard County Medical Center | St. Paul
  • Megan McGown | Great Plains Health | North Platte
  • Michelle Meyer | Columbus Community Hospital | Columbus
  • Deb Moorhous | Community Hospital | McCook
  • Tina Pate | Great Plains Health | North Platte
  • Sam Prokopec | Saunders Medical Center | Wahoo
  • Hayley Prosser | Thayer County Health Services | Hebron
  • Angela Pruitt | Jefferson Community Health & Life | Fairbury
  • Tierney Reilly | Community Hospital | McCook
  • Nancy Rinkol | Columbus Community Hospital | Columbus
  • Joni Sautter | Box Butte General Hospital | Alliance
  • Katie Schrad | St. Francis Memorial Hospital | West Point
  • Janell Shelton | Kearney County Health Services | Minden
  • Laura Teichmeier | Memorial Community Health | Aurora
  • Courtney Thurlow | Chadron Community Hospital & Health Services | Chadron
  • Megan Travis | CHI Health St. Mary’s | Nebraska City
  • Sarah Troester | Chadron Community Hospital & Health Services | Chadron
  • Deb Uldrich | Fillmore County Hospital | Geneva
  • Heather Valasek | Howard County Medical Center | St. Paul
  • Danny VanRanken | Kearney Regional Medical Center | Kearney
  • Ben Young | Valley County Health System | Ord