JCH&L Holds Annual Meeting

2017 was a busy and successful year

The Jefferson Community Health & Life board of directors held the organization’s annual membership meeting for fiscal 2017 on Monday, Jan. 8.

Two board members were elected to serve second terms: Linda Bauer and Brian Blobaum. Both are from Fairbury. Board members are elected from among members of the corporation and may serve up to two consecutive four-year terms.

Brian Scheele, board chairman, thanked the administration, medical staff, board members and staff for their efforts and excellent care.

“We will continue to strive to achieve our mission by ‘Inspiring healthy living by providing exceptional health and life services for every person, every time,’” Scheele said.

Chad Jurgens, CEO, sent a report to all members of the corporation highlighting major achievements of 2017. Highlights include a rebranding project and re-commitment to the community’s health; announcement of a future clinic in Plymouth; and development of community partnerships. JCH&L was recognized for several accomplishments during the year: In November of 2016 JCH&L was recognized by the Chartis Center for Rural Health/iVantage Health Analytics and the National Organization of the State Office of Rural Health for overall excellence in financial strength and patient satisfaction. In 2017, JCH&L was name a Top 100 Critical Access Hospital in the United States. JCH&L Gardenside was recognized as a 2017 recipient of the Bronze-Commitment to Quality Award for its dedication to improving the lives of residents through quality care. Gardenside continues to be recognized as a 5-Star facility.

Chance Klasek, CFO, reported that both revenues and expenses were up in fiscal 2017, with the year ending on an operating margin of 3.14 percent. Patient days were down slightly.

Anyone who has donated $100 to Jefferson Community Health & Life is a member of the private not-for-profit corporation.

At the regular monthly board meeting which followed the annual meeting, officers were elected for 2018. Officers are: Brian Scheele, chairman; Mary Glenn, vice chairman; and Brian Blobaum, secretary-treasurer.